Writing Repair

Friend: I do like being busy and engaged in things so, so far so good. (hmmm… how would you punctuate that last phrase? I see a couple of ways, the way I have it but also:
… and engaged in things, so so far, so good
…and engaged in things so so far, so good 
but my first choice seems perhaps most logical; the double “so so” seems to demand separation, doesn’t it?
***
Joy: Or how about … and engaged in things; so far, so good? (I think “so far, so good” qualifies as a sentence.)
***
Friend: Interesting … with the semicolon, we could dispense with the first “so” since it was functioning as a conjunction, and the semicolon really does the work for it! Maybe you could start a blog or post a series on Facebook: “fixing broken sentences” or some such!
***
As a copy editor, I wish I had more friends who enjoy exchanges like the above, so I decided to follow this friend’s advice and start a blog on the subject: writing repair. If you have a tricky writing issue, be it verbiage, punctuation or formatting, please post it. I’ll be happy to respond, and I hope others will chime in with their opinions.

I’m also available for copy editing work; email joyeckel@gmail.com for a free sample edit and estimate.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Writing Repair”

  1. Pc Repair Free Says:

    Like it a lot!…

    I saw this really good post today.Thanks a million…

  2. http://lovequotes4u.info/ Says:

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our entire community
    will be thankful to you.

  3. joyeckel Says:

    Glad you like it!

  4. love quotes For Her Says:

    Have you ever thought about publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?

    I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and
    would love to have you share some stories/information.

    I know my readers would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

Please Leave a Comment

